Sweat, Glisten & Glow – oh okay, SHINE too!

I haven’t been this fired up to write in a while…. BUT I just took this new class in my neighborhood and I feel ahh-mazing!

shine2

WHY?

Because this hit all my must-haves for a good workout and for this particular one they were:

  • Has to be a good workout
  • If it’s a dance class, it better be one with choreography
  • Major sweat – aka cardio
  • FUN, I was smiling, strutting my stuff and laughing, too
  • Met new people
  • Tried something I hadn’t done before (or in a LOONG time)
  • Left feeling good

WHERE?

Shine Studios

(AGAIN) WHY?

Dancing is good cardio.

It’s also good for the brain, because remembering all that choreography works your noodle.

HOW?

How did I get here? Well, I have always loved to dance. I took fours years of modern dance in high school and loved every second of it. When I moved to NYC post college, I found a dance studio, Broadway Dance Center  and at one point I was going 2-3 times a week. Let me tell you, those dancers are in good shape for a reason. Then at some point, dance fell off my radar (because you can’t do everything at the same time) and I was playing a lot of volleyball AND life happened.

BUT dance was still hovering there (usually late nights at a bar!) and of course there were those salsa lessons my husband and I took, which were a whole new ballgame since partner work was involved. But we took it seriously, took classes every Saturday then went out dancing at night to practice. We had a blast!

Dance was also on my mind when “So You Think You Can Dance” premiered and I watched that show wanting to be one of those dancers. And YES, I am that person who has watched every single one of the Step Up movies.

My last time taking consistent dance classes was Hip Hop/Zumba at Base in NJ with ChicpeaJC.  Which I ALWAYS had a blast taking.

Most recently, dancing has been a nightly event before we put our kids to bed – lots of ChaCha slides and silly moves.

And now, part of my decision to do something that makes me uncomfortable every day, is brought to you by Beach Cities Health District Free Fitness Weekends. I love that I can try new classes and put myself out there. Last year, I did take a salsa class and although I didn’t continue, it has been on my mind to go again.

So Shine Studios, thank you for making me look ridiculously funny and making me feel ridiculously fabulous at the same time!

vdayshinecm2017.

Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

Please reach out with ideas of new activities I should try next. Thinking about heading climbing again soon…..

Stay Active, my friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

